My letter to Cynthia Rowland

(I had nothing to do tonight, so I Googled myself and found this.  I swear, the internet is such a hoot.  There is absolutely no privacy!)

May 2003

August 2006

Hi Cynthia!

Well, it has been over a year since I last saw you.  At that time, you could not find my starting photo taken at the Learning Annex workshop that I attended.  I think that workshop took place near the end of May 2002.  It might have been 2003, but I do remember that it was late May because I had visited a local LA plastic surgeon just a few weeks earlier in May to get an estimate on what it would cost to fix my face.  I left his office in a total state of shock after hearing his estimate of $35,000 and that was just for a few basic critical problems, not even the entire face!  The photos I include were taken before hearing the estimate. I hate to think of how I must have looked afterwards.  I do remember dissolving into tears after his financial consultant assured me that it could be financed.

It is said that “thoughts are things”…in other words, thought has power.  Thought is a form of prayer.  I was frantic for an alternative.  Not only was surgery completely beyond my reach financially, I was terrified at even the thought of it.  I began to hunt for an alternative.  I remembered being contacted by e-mail years earlier regarding miraculous facial exercises which came in the form of an e-book.  I had purchased it, but in all honesty, I did not understand what to do.  I did not understand the proper placement of the fingers in each exercise.  So, it went unused. Then, a few days after visiting the surgeon, I was having lunch at my favorite little deli where there were copies of the Learning Annex booklets outside.  I had nothing to read, so I grabbed one and went in.  That’s where and how I stumbled across your class.  It was as if my mindset had opened the door to the answer to my prayer.  There you were.  I couldn’t believe it.  In fact, had I not already been primed by that e-book years before, I might have discounted your methodology.

There are 4 photos attached, 2 from the surgeon and 2 in approximately the same angles taken in the last two weeks.  Have fun.  I do every time I look at them.  I put them up side by side on my computer screen just to entertain myself.  Look at them and let me know what you think.  Personally, I think you are a gift from God.  I am  turning 56 in August and as I recall, you are an August baby also, so let me wish you a very happy birthday to come.  You helped me to change my future.  I can never really thank you enough.

With the deepest gratitude

Adriaen Ito

